Lemon-Law-Types.com

The Arizona Lemon Law

If you buy a new or used car or small truck that turns out to be a lemon, the Arizona lemon law has your back. You can demand a replacement or a refund of your purchase price.

Arizona's Law—Is My Vehicle Covered?

Your new vehicle is covered for two (2) years or 24,000 miles, or the term of the manufacturer's warranty, whichever comes first. It's unlikely that any passenger vehicle would have less than a two year warranty, so two years is probably the maximum amount of time you have.

If you bought a used car or truck, and discover that it's a lemon, you have 15 days or 500 miles to report it, but only if it's a major component that's defective (for example, the brakes or the steering).

Does My Arizona Lemon Qualify?

For a new vehicle, the defect or problem must substantially impair your use of the vehicle, or reduce its value. The problem must also not conform to the manufacturer's warranty. And your report of the first occurrence of the problem must be within the two year/24,000 mile period.

Before your vehicle can be called a lemon, it must have had at least four repair attempts for one particular problem. Or it must have been out of service for a total of 30 or more calendar days for one or more problems. If you reach either of those limits, you have a lemon.

For a used car, as long as it's a major component of the car, and the problem occurs within the 15 day/500 mile period, you're covered by the lemon law in Arizona.

Important Warning: All used cars and trucks in Arizona are sold as is, which means that the dealer has no obligation to fix any problem with your vehicle, unless he specifically states in your contract that he will fix it, or if the problem is covered by the Arizona lemon law for used vehicles (discussed above).

Yes, I Own a Lemon! What's the Next Step?

If your new vehicle meets the criteria above and can be considered an Arizona lemon, then the manufacturer must replace your vehicle or refund your purchase price. Start the process by contacting the manufacturer. Check your owner's manual for contact information.

Inform the manufacturer in writing that you are filing a lemon law complaint because your vehicle has met the Arizona lemon law minimum criteria. Be sure to send your letter by registered mail and request a return receipt as proof.

Also, take notes about every phone call between you and any manufacturer's representative, including the dealer. Keep every piece of documentation you have, including service orders, routine maintenance requests (to prove that you did not neglect your vehicle), and other corroborating information.

The manufacturer may want you to go to arbitration for one more chance to fix your vehicle. Arbitration is binding on the manufacturer, but not on you. You're free to take your case to court if you lose the arbitration hearing. If you do file a lawsuit, consider hiring a lemon law attorney or lawyer to represent your case in court.

If your used vehicle meets the lemon law criteria, then return the vehicle to the dealer. You'll have to pay up to $25 for each of the first two (2) repairs of the problem. If it's still not fixed after that, then you can demand the amount you paid for your used lemon.

Arizona Lemon Law—Summary

Both new and used vehicles are covered by the Arizona lemon law. If you own a lemon, don't hesitate to file a claim. The sooner you do it, the sooner you'll receive compensation in the form of a replacement vehicle of comparable value, or a refund of your purchase price. Compensation that is your right under the AZ lemon law.


NOTE:The information here is not legal advice and is only presented to you so you can know your options if you purchased a lemon. As with any legal issue, you should seek the advice of a qualified attorney.


 

Site Build It!


Lemon Law Types
Copyright © Lemon-Law-Types.com 2009-2010