Lemon-Law-Types.com

The Colorado Lemon Law

If you live in Colorado, your new vehicle is covered by the Colorado lemon law. This protects you by covering the replacement or refund of your lemon, should your claim meet certain criteria.

Does the CO Lemon Law Cover My Lemon?

New cars, pickups, SUVs and vans are covered by the law. Motorhomes and motorcycles are not covered.

Your vehicle must have been in for repair of a problem at least four times, or it must have been in for repair for at least a total of 30 business days (not calendar days) during the warranty period or the first year, whichever comes first.

It Looks Like I Have a Colorado Lemon. What's Next?

To start the Colorado lemon law process if the above criteria are met, you have to notify the manufacturer by certified mail. Outline all the repairs that have been done, the dates they were done, the parts used, and the cost of the parts. I recommend that you photocopy all repair invoices and send them with your letter. Be sure to copy your letter and keep it as a backup.

You and the manufacturer then participate in arbitration using an informal dispute settlement procedure, if the manufacturer has or uses one. If there is one, you must participate in arbitration before you can begin a legal case.

Arbitration and Law Suits

The manufacturer may have its own dispute resolution system, or may use a third-party arbitration service, such as the Better Business Bureau's.

Owners of Ford vehicles must call the Ford Dispute Settlement Board at 1-800-428-3718 to request that forms be sent to begin the dispute resolution process.

If you lose the arbitration hearing (the judgement is not binding on you), you can proceed with a legal case against the manufacturer. However, it must be filed within one year of the vehicle being delivered to you.

So it's very important that you begin the Colorado lemon law process as soon as possible. Don't delay in taking your lemon in for repairs. Since four repairs must be done, or 30 business days accumulated while in for repairs, there's a chance that you could lose your opportunity to sue.

Colorado Lemon Law Summary

The lemon law of Colorado seems to be stacked against you, the owner of a lemon vehicle. You must have at least four repair attempts done on your defective vehicle before you can begin the dispute process, or have lost 30 business days' use of the vehicle.

This leaves you very little time to go through the arbitration process and file a suit if that becomes necessary.

Ensure that you come out on top by taking your vehicle in for repair as soon as you notice that something is wrong. Document everything along the way and you should have a good chance at gaining compensation for your lemon.

NOTE:The information here is not legal advice and is only presented to you so you can know your options if you purchased a lemon. As with any legal issue, you should seek the advice of a qualified attorney.


 

Site Build It!


Lemon Law Types
Copyright © Lemon-Law-Types.com 2009-2010