Lemon-Law-Types.com

The Nevada Lemon Law

The Nevada lemon law covers the owners of certain motor vehicles that have defects that don't conform to the manufacturers warranty.

Does the NV Lemon Law Cover My Vehicle?

The lemon law in NV covers new cars, pickups, SUVs and motorcycles, if they have a warranty. It does not cover off-road vehicles or motorhomes (recreational vehicles, or RVs). You must use the vehicle primarily for personal, family or household purposes. You can be the second owner, if the warranty on the vehicle was transferred to you or is still valid during your ownership.

You have 12 months from the original date of delivery to report the defect in writing to the manufacturer, which must continue to make the repairs even if the 12 month protection period has expired.

The defect must substantially impair your use of the vehicle, or substantially reduce its market value. And the defect cannot be due to neglect, abuse, or unauthorized alterations or repairs.

If the manufacturer has been unable to fix the defect after four repair attempts, or the vehicle has been out of service for repairs for more than 30 days, you have a lemon.

I Have a Nevada Lemon. What Can I Do?

The Nevada lemon law process begins with you writing a letter to the manufacturer, outlining the issue and demanding a replacement or refund. Photocopy all your repair orders and work invoices, any notes, and other supporting documentation, and include them with your letter. Remember to photocopy your letter and keep the copy for your records. Mail the letter by certified mail, return receipt requested.

You will then have to go through the manufacturer's or a third-party's informal dispute resolution procedure.

Arbitration or Law Suit?

If the manufacturer has a dispute procedure, you're required to use it before you can turn to the courts for a remedy. The arbitration decision is not binding on you, so you're free to begin a law suit if you don't like the decision.

If you decide to file a suit, I recommend that you contact a lemon law attorney. This is a lawyer who has experience with the Nevada lemon law.

The arbitration hearing and/or the law suit must begin within 18 months of the original delivery date of the lemon vehicle.

Refund or Replacement?

If you win the arbitration hearing, or win the law suit, you're entitled to a replacement vehicle of comparable value. If you choose a refund, you'll receive the full purchase price plus sales tax and license and registration fees. The manufacturer will deduct a reasonable use fee for the mileage you've put on the vehicle.

Nevada Lemon Law Summary

The lemon law of Nevada covers your new vehicle for one year from the date of delivery. Once four repairs are attempted, or 30 days out of service are reached, contact the manufacturer and demand a replacement or refund. The sooner you get started, the sooner you'll be rid of your Nevada lemon.

NOTE:The information here is not legal advice and is only presented to you so you can know your options if you purchased a lemon. As with any legal issue, you should seek the advice of a qualified attorney.


 

Site Build It!


Lemon Law Types
Copyright © Lemon-Law-Types.com 2009-2010