Lemon-Law-Types.com

The Oklahoma Lemon Law

The Oklahoma lemon law covers new motorized vehicles that have to be registered for use in the state.

Which Vehicles Does the OK Lemon Law Cover?

The lemon law in Oklahoma covers all registered vehicles except those weighing more than 10,000 pounds. It also does not cover the living quarters of motorhomes (recreational vehicles, or RVs).

The defect must substantially impair use of the vehicle, or substantially impair its value. The vehicle is covered for one year from the original date of delivery.

You must report the defect, in writing, before the one year protection period is over. And you must allow the manufacturer to make at least four repair attempts for the same defect. Or, if the vehicle has been out of service for repairs for at least 30 business days during the protection period, it's considered a lemon.

My Vehicle Is an Oklahoma Lemon. What's Next?

You must inform the manufacturer, an authorized representative, or the dealer, in writing, before the end of the protection period. Send your letter by certified mail, return receipt requested.

Include photocopies of all your notes about the defect, the service orders and work invoices, and any other supporting documentation, plus copies of receipts for defect-related expenses you may have.Remember to photocopy your letter and keep a copy for your records.

Arbitration and Law Suits

You must work with the manufacturer's informal dispute resolution procedure before you can use the courts and the Oklahoma lemon law. Your owner's manual should provide information about the arbitration procedure.

If you disagree with the decision, which is not binding on you, you can file a law suit. If you decide to do that, I recommend that you consult a lemon law attorney, a lawyer experienced with the Oklahoma lemon law. If you win a suit against the manufacturer, you may be awarded attorney's fees, so it may be worth your while to speak with a lemon law lawyer.

Refund or Replacement?

Your compensation is a comparable replacement vehicle (one of equal value to the lemon vehicle), or a refund, including the full purchase price, plus sales tax and registration fees. In either case, the manufacturer will deduct a reasonable use fee based on the purchase price and the number of miles driven, minus 15,000 miles.

Oklahoma Lemon Law Summary

The lemon law in Oklahoma helps you receive compensation for a lemon vehicle. The sooner you reach the four repair/30 day threshold, the more money you'll receive as a refund, or the less you'll be required to pay for a replacement. So don't delay in reporting the defect, every time you detect it.

NOTE:The information here is not legal advice and is only presented to you so you can know your options if you purchased a lemon. As with any legal issue, you should seek the advice of a qualified attorney.


 

Site Build It!


Lemon Law Types
Copyright © Lemon-Law-Types.com 2009-2010