Lemon-Law-Types.com

The Wyoming Lemon Law

The Wyoming lemon law covers every new vehicle in the state that develops an unfixable defect.

Does the WY Lemon Law Protect Me?

The lemon law in Wyoming covers all motorized vehicles under 10,000 pounds that are registered in the state. They are covered for 12 months from the original date of delivery.

At least four repair attempts must have been made to correct the defect, or there must have been a total of 30 business days or more out of service, within the 12 month period.

The defect must substantially impair your use of the vehicle, or substantially reduce its value. And it cannot be due to abuse, negligence or unauthorized modifications or repairs.

I Own a Wyoming Lemon. What Do I Have To Do?

If your vehicle meets the above criteria, you have a lemon. You must inform the manufacturer in writing with your complaint; otherwise, you will not be able to start a claim.

Send your letter by certified mail, return receipt requested. Outline why you're demanding a replacement or refund. Photocopy your notes about the defect, all repair orders and work invoices, and other supporting documentation. Include those copies with your letter. Remember to photocopy your letter and keep that copy for your records.

Arbitration or Law Suit?

The Wyoming lemon law requires that you use the manufacturer's informal dispute resolution system before you can file a law suit. Most arbitration decisions from these systems are binding on the manufacturer, but not on the consumer.

If you disagree with the arbitrator's decision, you can then file a law suit. If you decide to go that route, I recommend that you consult with a lemon law attorney, a lawyer with experience dealing with the Wyoming lemon law.

Refund or Replacement?

You are entitled to either a replacement of the lemon vehicle, or a refund of the purchase price.

The replacement must be a vehicle of comparable value, including all dealer-installed options. If no comparable vehicle is available, you can receive a refund of the full contract purchase price, including installed options, plus any trade-in allowance and sales tax and license and registration fees.

The manufacturer is allowed to deduct a reasonable use fee based on the number of miles you drove the lemon.

Wyoming Lemon Law Summary

The lemon law in Wyoming covers all motorized vehicles registered in the state weighing 10,000 pounds or less. If your vehicle was out of service for 30 business days or more, or had at least four repair attempts, you can file a claim to receive compensation.

NOTE:The information here is not legal advice and is only presented to you so you can know your options if you purchased a lemon. As with any legal issue, you should seek the advice of a qualified attorney.


 

Site Build It!


Lemon Law Types
Copyright © Lemon-Law-Types.com 2009-2010